Skip to content

What Doesn’t Kill Us….

by on November 13, 2012

On my twenty-fifth birthday, as I was eating the greatest home-cooked meal ever, my mother read to me the greeting she had written into my birthday card. It was short and sweet and struck me somewhere deep.

“The first quarter of your life has sucked, so here to wishing you that the next one makes up for it.”

I had known that my life wasn’t perfect, but did it suck? Parts of it did. Parts of it were so bad, I didn’t think there was a place to go but up.

I’m one of those people who regrets deeply and suffers from the occasional dose of self-dislike. I had done things I’ve regretted. I’ve walked away when I should have stayed. I’ve allowed people to hurt me, humiliate me, just because I was too afraid to stand up to them. But I’m not the only one with regrets, and problems, failures, and disappointments. We all have those in our lives. We all make mistakes.

Today, I would like to say thank you for all the mistakes I’ve made, all the regrets, and failures, and pains. Thank you for all the struggles I’ve faced, and all the lessons I’ve learned along the way. They didn’t kill me, only made me stronger.

As this November, we all say thank you for all the good in our lives, remember to thank for some of the bad too. If it weren’t for the struggles, we wouldn’t be able to appreciate the good things.

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Mary Roya permalink

    What wonderful Mother, she acknowledged your struggles and gives you encouragement for the next. I have found the battles you face are what make you. So you either overcome, deal or become bitter. I’d like to think and I feel that I am an overcomer. And I love the words from Conan, the barbarian “What does not kill you, makes you stronger.” And it’s true. So if it is your birthday, Happy B’day, may you have a day filled with joy, laughter and peace. If not, my wish is still the same. Great blog.

    • Thank you for commenting, Mary. It’s so true about either overcoming or becoming bitter. I know a lot of people who have become bitter, cynical, and miserable after some of their life struggles. Sure don’t want to be like them.

  2. Fantastic post Angelina. I am very proud to know you.

    Nikki

Leave a Reply

