Skip to content

Recipe Wednesday ~ Jello Cake

by on November 7, 2012

Hey there,

It’s recipe Wednesday and I pulled out an old favorite of mine. I had to dig deep in my recipe box because I haven’t made this particular cake in years. However it is super simple and tastes divine. I would make it to correspond with every holiday…yes back then I had quite a bit of time on my hands and lots of parties to attend. Make it and leave overnight. It will be fabulous and your friends will think you are a dessert guru. Any who, I can go on for days, I hope you enjoy the recipe. Drop me a line if you make and tell me what you think.

Kassanna

 

Ingredients

  •   Cool Whip (for frosting)
  •   fruit (to match the jello flavor)
  •  1 box white cake mix
  •  1 (3 ounce) box any flavor Jello gelatin

Instructions

    1. Prepare cake according to package instructions.
    2. Allow to cool completely in pans. (I used a bundt pan)
    3. Using a fork, poke holes all over the top of the cake through to the bottom.
    4. Prepare jello according to package instructions except do not allow it to set yet.
    5. Pour jello slowly over the entire surface of the cooled cakes (cake will look soggy,  thats ok).
    6. Chill cakes until jello sets completely (several hours or over night).
    7. To remove cakes from pans, set the pan in a dish of hot water for 1 minute.
    8. Remove to a serving platter.
    9. Frost with the Cool Whip.
    10. Garnish with fruit pieces. (This is a suggestion – I never used fruit…correction I did use strawberries once)
    11. Keep any uneaten cake covered and chilled.
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

