Skip to content

Thankful… Shyla Colts’ thoughts on romance in real life.

by on November 2, 2012

The theme this month is giving thanks and I had to stop and think of how that related to me personally as well as to my writing.  Right now when I’m asked what I’m grateful for one of the first things that comes to mind is my husband. I’m grateful I’ll finally get to spend a holiday with my family together for the first time in a year. Hubby is a marine and just returned from a lengthy deployment less than six months ago. I know everyone always brings something different to the table with their writing because of their life experiences.  I think I bring endurance, the ability to overcome anything when you love someone. When I write I tap into that place where you keep pushing because the prize is just too great to give up. It’s one of the driving forces for me personally, being able to make sure my story ends with a happy ending after a trial by fire so to speak.

I think true love can overcome just about any obstacle in real life, just like in romance novels. I see it every day. Men and Women who make it work despite the fact their significant other is gone a good 60 percent of the time, or  dealing with sometimes traumatic events that  that have happened to them. ( War is an ugly thing.) They play the role of single parent while they hold down the fort at home solo while their loves one is away because being with them is the only option and this is what they have to do.

If that’s not love I don’t know what it is. I think romance is here in the every day if you open your eyes and look around. What about you?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Great post Shyla. Love hearing what your thankful for.

    Nikki

Leave a Reply

