Skip to content

Things That Go Bump in the Night…maybe

by on October 23, 2012

I’ve had a great time this month reading ghost stories and literally scaring myself silly! I even got to tell one of my own over on GK Adams’ blog about one of my experiences at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel, one of the most haunted places in America!  Check me out if you dare (scary laugh goes here).

Anyhow, this got me thinking about the other things that go bump in the night. There are cryptids among us (maybe). Those creatures whose existence isn’t supported by science but many claim to have seen nonetheless.

We all know the famous ones – the Loch Ness Monster, the Tibetan Yeti and its North American cousin, Big Foot. But have you heard of…El Chupacabra?

El Chupacabra roams through farms killing livestock in the dead of night. Sightings of the hairless doglike creature with a spiny back and front legs like a kangaroo have been recorded in the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Mexico and Texas!

That brings me to the cute little goat nibbling the bush in my front yard. Due to an arcane city ordinance governing my neighborhood, residents are allowed to keep one farm animal or two fowl as long as it is not two roosters.

I live surrounded by goats, potbellied pigs and numerous birds. Basically, it’s the perfect place for El Chupacabra to prowl through the dimly lit streets in search of prey. And this little cutie nearly became a snack for the mythical creature.

Early one evening, our little street filled the alley behind our homes pulled by the goat’s plaintive cries. Once outside, we could see that her hind leg was bleeding badly and my neighbors whisked her away for care. Another neighbor then said, “Hmm, El Chupacabra is moving north.”

While my husband tried to drag me inside, I questioned the man and learned the El Chupacabra myth and again, scared myself silly!  To this date, my little Chihuahua is not allowed outside after sunset. She just has to use the litter box. And while she looks at me with the “Are you serious?” expression on her face.

I calmly say, “El Chupacabra could be out there.”

So lock up your goats and your Chihuahuas, there could be a cryptid lurking in your backyard!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Leave a Reply

