Skip to content

More Florida legends…Let me tell you about Spook Hill.

by on October 22, 2012

Over the years that I have lived in Florida I have come across some very unusual things. Some scary some not. A couple of things even had me scratching my head and the story I’m about to tell you is a real one. In the small town of Lake Wales, Florida there is a place the locals have dubbed Spook Hill. I’ll explain why in a moment but first let me tell you about a legend of a great Indian warrior,  a humongous alligator and a fight to the death. I snagged this legend directly from the Spook Hill website. Here’s the link http://www.spookhill.info/index.htm

This is the story of the battle between the legendary Seminole Chief Cufcowellax, and a man-eating alligator. When the Seminole tribe broke from the Cherokee nation, they settled in central Florida. The chief was the leader of several villages surrounding the body of water we now call Lake Wales. This site was chosen due to its close proximity to Iron Mountain, the highest point in peninsular Florida, believed to be sacred to the Seminole’s Sun God.

The tribes were victims of nightly attacks by a beastly alligator. Eye-witness reports state that the bull-gator was over 17 feet long.  Men, women, and even children, were plagued by the evil spirit that inhabited their lake. The tribe lived in constant fear. The Chief’s heart was heavy because he had great respect for all animals great and small. Until now, he had only killed for food, but this battle was to save his people from certain death. He knew what he had to do.

Spookhill is where Chief Cufcowellax and the man-eating alligator fought their final battle. The Chief, being of great physical prowess, was a fearless warrior, and leader of his people. After the Chief was placed under the protection of the Great Spirit, by his tribal shaman and elders, he set out to conquer the evil gator that had been terrorizing his tribe. The final battle lasted for several moons. The legend states that as the Chief wrestled the gator, he called upon the mighty Forces of Nature to assist him, and miraculously the chief  pulled the monster down into the lake.

The lake turned red with blood. With fearful anticipation, the tribe watched the surface of the lake. Sounds of celebration rang out as the triumphant Chief rose from the lake of blood. The tribe also noticed something strange. The mighty battle had caused a second, smaller lake to appear,  near the big one. Some say the smaller lake, Ticowa, was created when the Chief gathered the forces of Nature during his battle with the bull-gator. Years later, when Chief Cufcowellax died, he was buried on the shore of this site, which is sacred to the Seminole people.

The gravity-defying legend began when pioneers first settled  Lake Wales. They noticed something mysterious about the hill itself.  Circuit riders, carrying mail from one Florida coast to the other, used the old trail around the lake until they discovered their horses were laboring downhill. As time went on, the citrus industry grew and orange groves covered the hillside. Citrus workers driving their wagons around the lake were startled to discover their mules were struggling as they pulled their loads downhill. In later days, when transportation became modernized, a black fisherman who was also a well-known merchant parked his truck on the hill, and was terrified to find the truck moving backwards and uphill on its own. He attributed the phenomenon to the action of “Spooks” and vowed never to return to the haunted hillside. The area became known as Spook Hill, as the reporting of  paranormal events continued to spread like wildfire.

Naturally when I heard about this phenomenon, I practically begged my husband to take me there I mean it was in our back yard. I am a skeptic, one of those show me people. After much pleading, my husband and I packed up the kids and drove the twenty minute drive to this legendary site. I wanted witnesses after all if something did happen. We followed the directions on the sign and parked at the white line. My husband the good sport that he is put the car in neutral and we waited. After about five minutes I was ready to throw my hands up and debunk the stories. Then something amazing happened, the car moved. Take that back it didn’t just move it literally went up hill and my guys hands were not on the steering wheel. I also leaned over to make sure he didn’t have his foot on the gas. It wasn’t but the car continued up hill and picked up speed to the point that my husband had to put his foot on the brake. What a ride and the view from the top of the hill fantastic. From that point you can see the two lakes big and small.

Giddy from the experience we went to lunch at a local diner one thing led to another and before long I was talking to the old man at the counter. He smiled at my enthusiasm and  patted my hand. He ambled off the stool and paid his bill then stopped before he left. He looked at me and said something that made me think.  He asked me “Do you believe in ghosts?” I’m almost sure I looked at him as if he’d lost his ever-loving mind. But I answered in my nonchalant way. “Seeing is believing.”

The elderly guy chuckled. “Then I guess you’ll be a believer because they say that what you felt is the ghost of the gator trying to pull you down to the lake to feed. Just because he’s gone to the other side don’t make him no less hungry.” I could hear him laughing as he exited the building.

Well, that wiped the smile off my face and I glanced at my husband. He just shook his head at me. “Really Kassanna, what have I told you about talking to strangers.” And what could I say to that because that old man just scared the piss out of me and on the drive home I made my significant other take the long way around the lake. I haven’t been back to Spook Hill since.

You know all about Spells Gone Wild – the fun story. Let me introduce you to Sexual Healing – The horror story.  It releases on 10/27 from Sugar and Spice Press. Below is the blurb. Enjoy!

A virus has broken out within the vampire colonies and Rebecca has been tasked with locating a virologist that could help her kindred scientist locate a cure.

She’s found the one man that could help them, maybe too late.

Damian Micheals is a virologist that enjoys the puzzle of the human body. He’s more than a little enthralled when a mocha beauty lands in his lab asking for his help. Of course he’s more than willing to hear her out and get to know her better until she tells him her tale and he decides that her beauty isn’t worth the price of putting up with her insanity.

Vampire’s do not exist. Until he is attacked.

Now they are running in a race against time to find a cure that would save her people and keep them from preying on his and all it may take is a little sexual healing.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Kass – that’s so spookily awesome! I have to add this spot to my To Visit list!

  2. We have a hill like that in Moncton, near where I live. We call it Magnetic Hill. You stop, put your car in neutral, and some magnetic force pulls you uphill.

Leave a Reply

