Skip to content

Pot Luck Wednesday ~ Today’s recipe Spinach Dip

by on October 10, 2012

I’m not sure if everyone enjoys spinach dip but I happen to love the stuff.  I fully admit I can sit down in front of the t.v. with bowl in hand and completely scarf  it down with tortilla chips. That is after I fight my sixteen year old daughter for it. In my mind though this is not a dip to have everyday. I’ve delegated it to the fall season with football and the holidays in my mind. I make and carry it to potlucks during the final months of the year. To quote my sister. “The festivities haven’t begun until I’ve placed my spinach dip on the table of our family’s first event.”

I hope it kicks off many  family traditions for you.

  •  1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 (16 ounce) container sour cream
  • 1 (1.8 ounce) package vegetable soup mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of  loose chicken bullion
  • 1 (4 ounce) can water chestnuts, drained and chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 (1 pound) loaf round sourdough bread (optional – I use Tortilla chips)
Directions
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together mayonnaise, sour cream, soup mix, sugar, bullion, water chestnuts and chopped spinach. Chill in the refrigerator 6 hours, or overnight.
  2. Remove top and interior of sourdough bread. Fill with  mixture. Tear removed bread chunks into pieces for dipping.
2 Comments
  1. I am so making this. Looooooovvvvvvvvvve Spinach Dip.

  2. I love spinach dip. Thank for sharing.

Leave a Reply

