Skip to content

5 Most Common Phobias

by on October 5, 2012

People are afraid of a lot of things. In fact, most people are afraid of something. I don’t trust anyone who says they aren’t afraid of anything, because then I’d just be waiting for the lighting bolt to strike them from above.

Let’s take a quick look of what scares most people – the top five most common phobias.

The "Little Miss Muffet" scenario ex...

The “Little Miss Muffet” scenario explained by Denslow (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1. Acrophobia – Fear of heights.
Heights make me weak in the knees, but I force myself to look over the edge of wherever I happen to go to try to

overcome it. Doesn’t work. Cliffhanger gave me heart palpitations on the television for goodness sake. When I rode the Skyway at Great Adventure, I almost left bruises on my husband’s biceps. Heights are not for me.

2. Claustrophobia – Fear of Enclosed Spaces
If you have this, don’t ever watch The Descent.

3. Nyctophobia – Fear of the Dark
Keep a flashlight handy.

4. Arachnophobia – Fear of Spiders
Stay away from the movie of the same name. I can’t even watch it on network TV, it gives me the ever-loving creeps.

5. Ophidiophobia – Fear of Snakes
They’re very slithery, aren’t they?

So…what scares YOU?

Dahlia

Enhanced by Zemanta
From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Oh there are quite a few things that give me pause, falling is one. 🙂 And that’s all I’m sharing with you.

  2. I have an insane fear of being closed into a small space. And I did watch the Descent. It was the creepiest movie, for obvious reasons.

    • Dahlia DeWinters permalink

      Rhonda, I was glad when the cave people appeared. It actually lessened the tension of the movie for me!

  3. There is no Latin term for my fear. I have a fear of driving.

  4. Spiders. Dead or alive. I get creeped out from reading about them in books. I read a short story about a man who got infested with them inside of his body…I couldn’t sleep for two days.

    • Dahlia DeWinters permalink

      Oh, Rebecca! That gives me the willies just reading about it. (shivers)

  5. Birds. I’m an ornithophobe! Because there is a name for it, I feel better about it.

    • Dahlia DeWinters permalink

      Vallory, it validates your phobia now they have named it. 🙂

  6. Mary Roya permalink

    What scares me is the IRS. Actually, I can’t think of anything I am terrified about, but there are things I don’t like, spiders, snakes and stupid people. Oops did I really say that out loud? Tee hee

Leave a Reply

