Skip to content

Still Playing Dress Up

by on October 4, 2012

ImageSo this thing called Halloween, it happens to be one of my favorite holidays. What other time of the year can a person dress up and be anything they want. This doesn’t include the romance/sci-fi/comic/fet conferences either. Did I miss a conference? If I did I apologize.

As a kid Halloween was definitely my favorite holiday. I was everything from a pilgrim, and a clown to Raggedy Ann and some superhero I can’t quite remember. Now when it comes to dress up for Halloween, the imagination runs wild and I can pick pretty costumes and not worry about the cost,

So lately I’ve focused on period costumes. Renaissance area dresses and such. I really need to stop watching movies with Lords, ladies and queens. 🙂 And that led to making costumes one year. I know. What was I thinking, right?

They were easy costumes, a poodle skirt, a sexy barmaid, red riding hood, the mad hatter, a king, a peasant woman and a lady and they were all completed within a three week time frame. Every one was happy with their costumes and they can be worn again and again.

What’s your favorite costume past or present?

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Dahlia DeWinters permalink

    I’d have to say my favorite costume is the bobbysoxer I did when I was still teaching. My soon to be husband was a “greaser”. I had the saddle shoes, ponytail and even the cat’s eye glasses. I persuaded hubs to wear a Fonzie type wig. The students loved it.

  2. Sounds like a good time was had by all. I love saddle shoes and have a pair in my closet. 🙂

  3. I just bought a costume …a witch costume to be exact that I am excited about. It’s black and purple and has the coolest hat that I got to go with it. I am o excited.

  4. My favorite costume was Wonder Woman. I was three. It was the last time I trick or treated as a kid. 😦 But…if I had a good reason, I’d dress up as Wonder Woman again, age be damned!

Leave a Reply

