Skip to content

Life’s Little Challenges

by on September 28, 2012

Sometimes life-changing events can send you down a far different road than the one you intended to travel. An unplanned pregnancy, the birth of a child, a disability, the loss of a job or a loved one. These can all have a profound affect on a person’s life. How you choose to deal with them determines your next path.

I strongly believe that I was put on this Earth for a reason. The choices I’ve made have led me to where I am today. Given a choice, would I have lived my life differently? I don’t know, perhaps some parts of it. All I can do is accept that life is what it is and move forward. We learn from our mistakes, and as my brother is fond of saying, what doesn’t kill us can only make us stronger.

On June 6, 1973, I held my first child in my arms. I was fifteen. We had a lot of lean years, a lot of growing up to do, and we also had a lot of love and lots of laughter. That child was my salvation, in a way. Coming from a dysfunctional background, he became my reason for living. A mistake? Not on your life! He was mine! Someone who I could love and who loved me in return. We grew up together, my son and I, and we had plenty of fun along the way. Walking, talking, going to the park or for groceries…whatever we did, we did together. He was three-years-old when I graduated high school and I was so proud to have him there, dressed in a cute little navy blue suit. My blond-haired, blue-eyed bundle of love.

In 1979, he started school and I was at a loss. I enrolled in business college and majored in accounting. Was this what I had originally planned for my life’s work? No, but there was a need and it would help us live a better life, financially. I worked in accounting for many, many years, and it served us well.

I chose to push forward, to think positive, and always strive to help others in need. Whether it’s a hug, an ear to listen, a drive somewhere, a place to stay for a few days, or a babysitting stint, I do what I can. I think the world would be a much better place if we all tried to help someone along the way.

As an author, I’ve had help from other authors, friends, relatives, and editors, and I try to return the favor. I’ve learned my craft and yet I’m still learning. Writing is a continual learning curve, always researching to make the next novel better than the one before, to make it realistic, and to make it believable. This is something I can do from home. Now that my kids (yes, I married and had two more) are grown, I’m free to do as I please. I’ve done my duty, raised my children to be responsible adults, and now it’s time for me (with time-out for the grandbabies, of course!).

My dreams of becoming a published author may have been put on hold, but they hadn’t died. I published children’s books and posters in the ‘90’s, but now I write what I enjoy reading. It’s been almost a year since my first book was released and I’m still happily sharing my characters. Writing their stories is the only way to get them out of my head, so I keep at it. Life is busy, but writing keeps me sane.

My advice…if you have a dream, go after it with arms outstretched. Grab it and make it happen. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Lorraine what a wonderful post about seeking out your dreams no matter what or when as long as you do it. Kudos to you for going after yours. Everyone’s journey is different but no less special.

    NIkki

  2. Great post and a very inspiring story.

    When I was in high school we had a lot of girl who became pregnant, dropped out, and eventually it was grandma raising those babies instead of the teenage mothers. I’m inspired and happy to see that you raised your own children and that you were still able to finish school and go to collage.

  3. Such a great post. Thanks for sharing. Great advice, too.

Leave a Reply

