Skip to content

Firsts…

by on September 15, 2012

ImageI was sitting here debating on what to write about as the theme for this month is firsts and an image of my first time I smelled the men’s cologne called Drakkar Noir popped into my mind.

Picture this:  I stopped at an end cap in a department store and I picked up this black bottle of men’s cologne and decided to smell it.  I closed my eyes and inhaled deeply and was rooted to the spot giving a soft sigh of surprise at how lovely it smelled.  It was the first time I thought a cologne was sexy and just the smell of it made me wish I was with a man who was wearing it.  My twenty something body could not move as the smell had captured me so completely.

My mother came and stood by me and I instinctively knew it was her before she said anything,  I took in the scent one more time and then handed it off to her.  My mother was in her forties and she took a deep whiff as I turned to look at her, her eyes was closed as well.  She sighed and I nodded in agreement.  Words weren’t necessary.

Then I looked over as my grandmother who was in her sixties and she wanting to know what we were doing stopped as well. Automatically my mother handed her the bottle and grandma took a deep breath and gave a  soft sigh.  Right there was a Kodak moment.  Three generations stopped by one small bottle.

That was a wonderful first, a time of sharing, a time of bonding a time of deep understanding over something so simple.  I knew that day that whomever I married I would have to share that first with him and I did.  Now they have a whole line of Drakkar Noir items.

Firsts involve so many things.  First kiss, first book, first date…as women I think we carry firsts closer to our heart then men…what about you?  Also I dare you to go try Drakkar for yourselves, take a long whiff…relax and enjoy.

Please comment and leave your email for your chance to win in our giveaway!  I will be giving away some magnets.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Oh… I do believe we hold our first closer. My first kiss (one of only four in my 30 some odd years) was when I was 14 (14 was my year for firsts… apparently). It was cold… bitterly cold for a Georgian January and my friend Shelly had gushed over her first kiss the night before with her boyfriend Kevin… who lived in my neighborhood. So his buddy, my boyfriend the preacher’s son, John, decided for us that it was as good of time as any. Now… no one tells you that first time to breathe through your nose… so when I pulled back, breaking the kiss with a gasp he grinned like a Cheshire cat done good. In reality… it was cold and wet and slimy, and my nose was a bit runny and my cheeks were windblown chaffed. But I will forever remember that first kiss in the culdesac.

    Year of 14: Had my last first kiss, too. 16 years later… he steals the covers and sometimes snores… but I love him.

    • Kris thank you for stopping by. I am sitting her smiling cause I recognized your name Konflicted. So funny how small the world is….we used to chat on Opendiary. Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your first. A kiss is one of the special firsts for sure.

      Nikki

  2. In high school it was Carrington. Now it’s Burberry. Love those firsts.

  3. Jillian permalink

    Lovely memory. I love me some Drakker too!

  4. The first for me was in high school. When we shared our first kiss I learned what love truly is and I was in love with her. Eventually we went our separate ways but I still remember after all these years. God could that woman kiss. 🙂

  5. I love me some Polo Green, takes me right back to some certain men.

    • 🙂 I never smelled that one that I know of Kim! But it’s amazing how some things bring us right back to the beginning of something…jogs our memories.

      Nikki

  6. Lovely memory. Thanks for sharing, Nikki!

Leave a Reply

