Skip to content

Love Gypsy and Interview with Mariah Lynne

by on September 13, 2012

1. What inspired you to write your first completed work? Strong characters always inspire me. I had the character of Raya the gypsy in my head for almost a year. I even knew her name, what her specific talents were, and what I thought she looked like. One afternoon while home with bronchitis, I decided to write down what was in my head.

2. Tell us about the first time you had a story published?  How did that feel?  “The Love Gypsy” is my first published story. Of course, I was thrilled! Prior to writing my novella, I wrote weekly entertainment columns for both of our island newspapers for more than twelve years. I operated a good size retail business on the beach but always had writing as a life goal. I freelanced ghost- writing autobiographies for a national yearbook of successful Realtors.

3. Was your first review favorable or critical?  What did you learn from it?  Favorable. Mac at TwoLipsReviews.com gave The Love Gypsy four lips and called my story “delightful.” Being my first book, I was elated beyond belief. The review stated that there were a few unanswered questions. As I read that part of the review, I wondered why I didn’t think of that when I wrote the story. I will definitely keep the questions in mind for the next book especially if time travel is involved. I took the comments as helpful suggestions from an experienced reader and reviewer.

4. Tell us about some of the authors that have influenced you as a writer.  Why these particular authors? Again, this goes back to strong characters, especially stories with strong women.  Going all the way back to high school, I loved Pearl Buck’s” The Good Earth”. The characters were compelling especially O-lan, while the setting peaked my interest in different cultures. Then I turned to Elizabeth Bennett in Jane Austen’s “ Pride and Prejudice” whose views on marriage were ahead of her time. Strong female characters always hook me whether they are in a classic or a good mystery. Agatha Christie’s Miss Jane Marple, an elderly spinster considered to be a frail busybody by her peers remained fearless in her pursuit of murderers. Stephanie Plum’s character is another favorite, strong, funny and full of surprises.

5. What are some of the challenges you face as a writer? I face the same challenges as every other writer trying to develop and learn the craft. Time is my biggest enemy. Home duties, work, and life throw up hurdles every day making it difficult to cross the finish line with a completed manuscript.

6. Do you have a favorite out of the books you have written? Since this is my first, I’d have to say “The Love Gypsy”. I really had fun writing it and hopefully readers will enjoy the story.

 

7. What is your motto for your writing? Stay with it!  Don’t give up! Try to write something every day. Learn as much as you can about what you hope to do.

  1. For writers just starting out:  Do you have a favorite quotation to share? Elmore Leonard wrote,
    ”My most important piece of advice to all you would-be writers: When you write try to leave out all the parts readers skip.”

9. When reading a book, what tells you it’s going to be a “good story”? Whether or not the main character or characters draw me into the story in the first chapter.

  1. Do you have any interesting things you like to do while reading said good book? Curling up on the couch with my dog lying next to me on the floor.

BLURB:

Florida homicide detective Brianna Breeze can’t seem to catch a man unless she handcuffs him.

So her best friend decides to take matters into her own hands and tricks Brianna into seeing the

Love Gypsy, a time traveler’s friend noted for her extraordinary matchmaking skills.

When a tall, muscular man wearing jeans, a black leather jacket, and slicked-back 50s hair bursts

in on her first visit, Brianna is bewitched. Despite the gypsy’s warning not to get involved with

him, Brianna can’t get him out of her mind—even though she, more than anyone, knows the

pitfalls of romancing a stranger.

A present-day murder, a mysterious vintage car registered in the distant past, and a smoking gun

complicate the puzzle. Brianna doesn’t know if her lover from the past is a murderer, or a savior,

but she’s willing to risk time travel to find out.

EXCERPT:

“Hey lady,” he whispered. “You’re some kind of knockout. I heard you tell Raya that you’re a cop. Where would you hide a concealed weapon in that dress?”

CONTACT INFORMATION:

WEBSITE: MARIAHLYNNE.COM

Email:MariahLynneAuthor@yahoo.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mariah-Lynne/295721153858612

BUY LINK:  http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=177_139&products_id=4917             or

Download The Love Gypsy

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Hi Mariah, thanks so much for being here today. I totally love the premise of The Love Gypsy and can’t wait until it’s on my Kindle.

  2. Terrific interview! Sounds like an excellent read. 🙂

  3. Great interview. The Love Gypsy looks interesting.The only thing I try to do while reading a good book is hide from the distractions in the house:)

  4. Nice to know you through the interview. The book sounds great. I love the name!

    Nikki

  5. Shyla Colt permalink

    Great interviews! I love the concept of the book.

  6. Great Interview Mariah! I’m looking forward to reading this.

  7. Dahlia DeWinters permalink

    This sounds like a great read – the concept itself is unique. I enjoyed the interview, Mariah, thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

