Skip to content

A Year Full of Firsts

by on September 10, 2012

This past year has flown by like a whirlwind charging through. It has seen a lot of firsts for me…setting up a blog, signing my first contract, seeing my first cover, learning how to edit, to promote myself as an author, to set up a website, and to self-publish books. I also joined several social media sites, struggling until I learned those as well. Last month I attended my first writers’ workshop and it was a terrific experience. There is so much more to writing than just writing.

Has it been easy? No. It’s been a difficult and arduous journey by times, with many learning curves to conquer.

Would I do it again? Definitely! Since my debut novel, Zakia and the Cowboy, released in October, 2011, I have been overjoyed with readers’ responses. The majority of my reviews have been excellent, proving that not only have people bought and read my books…they enjoyed them, too. What more could an author ask for? Reviews to date can be found on my website under each book page. Just click here.

Well, I could say more hours in the day as I don’t get to write nearly as much as I want to, but still, I have eleven titles out now and four more in the works for this year. 15 books in 15 months. Not bad for a newbie!

It’s good to set goals and challenge yourself to meet them. Writing has always been a passion of mine and I’m thrilled to be writing full-time now. This has been such an amazing year! A year chock full of firsts. I’ve learned so much and gained a lot of friends, both in and out of the publishing business. Life couldn’t be much better than this. I’m living my dream and loving every minute of it!

What has this past year done for you? How many ‘first’ hurdles have you scaled? In your profession? Your personal life? Share your stories and your email address with us and one lucky commenter will have their choice of a title from my backlist as shown below. Thank you for visiting with us today. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. 15 books in 15 months is definitely commendable. Now I’m gonna slink back to my computer and get some work done. 🙂

    • Thank you, Lynn. I’ve been writing since 2009 so I had a few manuscripts piling up. 🙂 I love to write, so it’s no hardship for me to sit in front of the computer crafting stories. It’s a lot of work, getting them to the contract, then published stage, but well worth it.

  2. I wish I could write 15 books in 15 months!!!

  3. LOL, Kass! I edited and published them, but they’re not all full novels. Three of them are shorts, 6000-11000 words. Those ones don’t take much time at all. 🙂

  4. That is wonderful Lorraine! Kudos to you.

    Nikki

  5. Shyla Colt permalink

    That’s alot of fantastic firsts, thank you for sharing them with us!!!

  6. Dahlia DeWinters permalink

    An inspiring post! Thank you, Lorraine!

Leave a Reply

