Skip to content

Do you Remember the first time you fell in love….

by on September 3, 2012

Do you remember your first love? I do. He was from Italy, with dark hair, cropped short to his head, a roman nose, pale skin, and black eyes that drew you in. He was a bit on the small side but his authentic accent, and devil may care attitude more than made up for that.  ( Hey , I was all of thirteen 😉   What I should mention next is that he was a fictional character, a vampire to be exact. His name was Damon Salvatore, and he was the bad boy from the Vampires Diaries series.  I figured out young, tall, dark, and off the beaten path was my thing at an early age.  :winks:

For those of you who watch the show, Vampire Diaries, you know just how gorgeous, sinful, witty and intelligent the vampire is.  Thanks largely to Ian Somerhalder, who brought him to life on the television screen.  For me though, Damon from the book was that and more. His back story made him less shallow and as you know you never forget your first. The reaction his character evoked opened my eyes to the power of romance and writing. I’d always loved to read, but that series awoke a slumbering beast inside of me. My love of paranormal romance had begun, and till this day it lingers on.  Many characters have come in and out of my life, and I’ve loved many more hero’s but Damon will always be my first, and memorable in his own special way.

It’s that moment captured in time that makes romance so special to me. It’s why it’s my preferred genre to write in, and a lot of time read. I don’t limit my romance addiction to simply paranormal or even adult. Ya Romance has its own appeal and takes me back to a simpler time.

Do you remember the first time you feel in love with a character from the book? Who were they? When you look back now do you smile with nostalgia?

Leave a Comment for a chance to win some fab author swag.

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Oh boy do I remember the character I first fell in love with. He was in the book Gabrielle by Theresa Conway. Captain Rafe Savage. He was the bad guy. Sexy as sin, bad as hell but I loved him all the same. His name alone made me think naughty thoughts. Thank you for the memories.

  2. Shyla Colt permalink

    oooh Cpt. Rafe Savage does sound sexy as sin 😉 Thanks for sharing and commenting Nikki ! 😀

  3. Rhett Butler! Nuff said! 🙂

  4. Shyla Colt permalink

    @Lorraine, love that answer! I know many women who swoon for Mr. Butler!

  5. Jean Claude from Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series.

    • Shyla Colt permalink

      Oh Jean Claude… I remember reading that for the first time at 18. I was hooked instantly.

Leave a Reply

