Skip to content

I’m Not a Romantic, but If I Were

by on September 2, 2012

If I were romantic I’d know the right thing to say to make your heart melt every time.

If I were romantic, we’d watch the sunrise snuggled in each other’s arms.

If I were romantic, I’d place a rose on your pillow each night and wake you with breakfast in bed.

If I were romantic, we’d eat dinner by candlelight. I’d put rose petals in your water and trail them to the bedroom.

But that’s if I were romantic.

Unfortunately, I’m not one of those women who inherited the romance gene. It totally skipped me and landed on my sister. I really have to concentrate on making anything romantic. Good thing my own personal hero who handles romance with panache and flair.

Thank goodness I’m a bit of a sentimental sap and treasure those moments of amorous genius. How else could I write about an indoor picnic or engagement rings in roses.

But romance is so much more than flowers, cards and candy. It’s a gentle squeeze, holding hands, a soft look passed across a room. It’s knowing where you are in your loved one’s heart. My idea of romance is playing our song from high school, a pair of shoes or bringing me a frappe. It’s also a lot of little things through out the year. Not just huge gifts for holidays, anniversaries and birthdays.

But that’s if I were a romantic. If all else fails, a frappe, balloons, and Hoops & YoYo will make this girl swoon. 🙂

Until next time, Indulge Your Inner Romantic.

So what do you do to get back to romance? Leave a comment for a chance to win some author swag.

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. My husband and I don’t really do holidays or anniversaries…but when I think about all of the things he’s done for me over the years, I get misty-eyed. He’s been my rock for so much, and to me, THAT’S what romance is. Being there for someone, and showing you care by holding them when things are rough.

  2. Stephanie Pittman permalink

    I fell in love with this lil skit and it gave me even more ideals on being romance. It brought a smile to my face.

  3. Dahlia DeWinters permalink

    I am not a flowers and candy type of gal either, but the hubs knows what makes me tick. Gadgets are my roses. When he bought me the latest iPhone for Christmas…well, let’s just say I got a little more than misty-eyed. Romance is what you make it, not always what the merchants say it is. Lovely post, W Lynn~

  4. Shyla Colt permalink

    I won’t say I’m not a flowers kind of girl,, because I do love them. But I agree that romane is so much more, and I’d be equally as happy with a certain type of candy because my hubby knows it’s my favorite. Gifts for our special days usually center around what we need or want. For him it’s usually the latest gadget for me it’s often writing/reading related, and that’s okay. Because really isn’t love the celebration of your uniqness and relationship together. Great post W Lynn 🙂

  5. I love romantic gifts. But yes romance is much more than someone giving you something. Sometimes it’s just him/her remembering to tell you how much you mean to them. It can be a glance that starts the music in your head and you know that being in his or her arms is all that matters…

    Romance is from the heart…

  6. I’m more of a practical type of person. Give me a potted plant or some seeds or bulbs, and I’m a happy camper. Of course, a laptop would be a nice gift. LOL Great post!

Leave a Reply

